Have you ever wondered where the counties in South Dakota got their names? The roots of our county names showcase the history of the area and nation.

The state's largest county by population, Minnehaha, gets it's name from what is said to be the Sioux word for waterfall. Seems about right, with the falls on the Big Sioux River being a center piece in the county seat of Sioux Falls.

The state's largest county by area, Meade County in the west with it's county seat in Sturges, takes it's name from a Civil War general. General George Meade commanded the Army of the Potomac in the Battle of Gettysburg defeating Robert E. Lee. The county was organized in 1889 and was named for Fort Meade a military post in the area.

The home of Rapid City, Pennington County, gets it's name from the fifth Governor of Dakota Territory. John L. Pennington was governor at the time that the county was created in 1875.

Just south of Minnehaha County is Lincoln County. Established in 1867 it, like many counties in the country, gets it's name from President Abraham Lincoln.

Brown County in northeast South Dakota is named for Alfred Brown, a Dakota Territory legislator in 1879 when the county was created.

Brookings County is named for Wilmot Brookings who was a Dakota Territory Supreme Court justice and first provisional governor of Dakota Territory. In fact the county and city of Brookings and the city of Wilmot are named for him. Brookings also helped organize a county government for Minnehaha County in the 1850s and served as district attorney there. Brookings was an all around South Dakota guy, serving in various government positions, running for congress, organizing a railroad and owner and editor of the Sioux Falls Leader newspaper.

Several of the other counties in the stare are named after various state and territory legislators from the time they were created.

Some of the most interesting name originsin the state include Bon Homme, Haakon and Aurora counties.

Bon Homme County takes it's name from a French phrase meaning "good man." More specifically, when Lewis and Clark were making their way up the Missouri River they noted a large island in the river that was called Bon Homme.

Haakon County, organized in 1915, is named for King Haakon VII, the first king of Norway who took the throne there in 1905.

Aurora County, home of Plankinton, SD, was named for Aurora, the Roman goddess of the dawn, when it was created in 1879.



See Also: