In today's world a teacher's role is a multifaceted profession. It has become so much more than just executing lesson plans.

These days, teachers must now carry the role of a surrogate parent, disciplinarian, mentor, counselor, book keeper, role model, planner, the list goes on and on.

South Dakota is fortunate to be blessed with so many great educators. On Thursday, one teacher in the state will rise to the top.

Thursday, October 15, is the day the South Dakota Teacher of the Year will be announced during a ceremony in Oacoma.

The winner will be chosen from five finalists who have already been selected to represent different regions of the state because of their outstanding work in the education field.

The 2015 South Dakota teacher of the year finalists are; Kim Davidson from the Rosholt School District; Heidi Holforty from the Huron School District; Sarah Lutz from Stanley County School District, Shelly Mikkelson from the Belle Fourche School District; and Kaye Wickard of the Ipswich Public School District.

Thursday's winner will then compete for National Teacher of the Year designation. That award will be handed out in April at a ceremony to be held in Washington.

Source: Daily Journal

More From Hot 104.7 - KKLS-FM