14 people will be awarded by the SDHSAA for their work for high school athletics in the state of South Dakota.

The SDHSAA has announced the recipients for the 2017-18 Distinguished Service Awards. These awards are given to administrators, coaches, directors, and officials. Six of the 14 awards will be given to officials for this year. Five coaches/directors will be honored, with one of them being a recently retired coach from Sioux Falls Washington. Three administrators were also included to round out the list.

The SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award program was established by the SDHSAA in 1976.

2017-18 SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award Winners


  • Dr. Jason Uttermark, Aberdeen Central
  • Dani Walking Eagle, St. Francis
  • Galen Drapeau, Marty

Coaches & Directors, Fine Arts 

  • Helen Mogen, Chester
  • Sharon Prendergast, Sisseton
  • Roger McCafferty, Aberdeen Central

Coaches & Directors, Athletics

  • Bruce Kleinsasser, Aberdeen Central, Cheer
  • Marc Murren, Sioux Falls Washington, Wrestling


  • Kevin Brick, Brandon Valley
  • Kim Bartling, Sioux Falls
  • Jim Aberle, Lead
  • Terry Duffy, Brookings
  • Gene Struck, Montrose
  • Dave Dolan, Rapid City

More From Hot 104.7 - KKLS-FM