Mitchell Technical Institute and Southeast Technical Institute were named among the nation’s top 150 community colleges by The Aspen Institute College Excellence Program. The schools were selected from a pool of nearly 1,000 public two-year colleges.

The schools are now eligible to compete for the Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence and $1 million in funds, as well as the Siemens Technical Scholars Program student scholarships. Top ten finalists will be named in May 2018 and a final winner in 2019.

The prize is a recognition of high achievement and performance among America’s community colleges. It recognizes institutions for exceptional student outcomes in four areas: student learning, certificate and degree completion, employment and earnings, and access and success for minority and low-income students.

Lake Area Technical Institute in Watertown won the Aspen Prize in 2017.

See Also:

More From Hot 104.7 - KKLS-FM