Stormy weather is in store for this evening across the region. The National Weather Service Storm Prediction Center issued a Tornado Watch until 9 pm Wednesday.

South Dakota counties involved include Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Hanson, Hutchinson, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner, Union, and Yankton.

National Weather Service Sioux Falls
National Weather Service Sioux Falls

Nebraska counties in the watch area are Antelope, Burt, Cedar, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Knox, Madison, Pierce, Stanton, Thurston, and Wayne.

Minnesota counties include Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Rock, Waseca, and Watonwan.

Iowa counties in the tornado watch area are Buena Vista, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Emmet, Hancock, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Lyon, Monona, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Webster, Winnebago, and Woodbury.

A tornado watch means that tornadoes are possible during the watch period and area. Being prepared is the primary purpose of the watch. Tornado warnings mean that a tornado is currently happening and has either been spotted on the ground or has been indicated on radar by the local National Weather Service office.


More From Hot 104.7 - KKLS-FM