Miguel Sano is hoping to become the second Minnesota Twins player in franchise history to win the Major League Baseball Home Run Derby.

The Home Run Derby started in Minnesota at the Metrodome as part of the 1985 All-Star Game weekend. Dave Parker from the Cincinnati Reds won the inaugural contest belting six home runs. Tom Brunansky was the first Twins player to participate in the event, and he hit four home runs.

Minnesota will have had seven different players take part in the Home Run Derby since it started counting this year. Justin Morneau is the only player in Twins history, as of now, to appear in two derby's. He is also the only player for the Twins to win the event doing so in 2008 at Yankee Stadium.

Sano will look to capture the win tonight at the new Marlins Stadium in Miami.

Minnesota Twins Home Run Derby History

  • 1985 - Tom Brunansky (4), The Metrodome
  • 1989 - Gary Gaetti (0), Anaheim Stadium
  • 2002 - Torii Hunter (3), Miller Park
  • 2007 - Justin Morneau (4), AT&T Park
  • 2008 - Justin Morneau (22) *defeated Josh Hamilton 5-3 in Final*, Yankee Stadium
  • 2009 - Joe Mauer (5), Busch Stadium
  • 2014 - Brian Dozier (2), Target Field
  • 2017 - Miguel Sano (TBD), Marlins Park

More From Hot 104.7 - KKLS-FM