Are you still searching for a good New Years Resolution for 2020? Here's one, don't drive drunk.

Outside of the obvious, here's another excellent reason not to get behind the wheel while being intoxicated, the South Dakota Department of Public Safety is planning to launch sobriety checkpoints in 18 different counties to start off 2020.

KSFY TV is reporting that checkpoints are planned for Beadle, Brown, Butte, Charles Mix, Codington, Day, Fall River, Hughes, Kingsbury, Lincoln, Lyman, McCook, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Stanley, Walworth, and Yankton counties in January.

South Dakota sets up different sobriety checkpoints each month to dissuade drivers from drinking and driving.


According to KSFY, in 2019, there were 158 checkpoints conducted statewide. During those checkpoints, 12,710 vehicles were inspected,169 DUI arrests made, and 84 alcohol citations issued.

Cracking down on drunk drivers. We're on it!

Source: KSFY TV

More From Hot 104.7 - KKLS-FM