Center for Family Medicine Celebrates Its 50th Anniversary

Center for Family Medicine (CFM) and the Sioux Falls Family Medicine Residency (SFFMR) announces its 50th anniversary as a family medicine clinic and residency program in 2023.

CFM is a non-profit corporation originally formed in 1973 as the “Family Practice Center,” jointly and equally sponsored and supported by Avera and Sanford Hospitals.

Hot 104.7 - KKLS-FM logo
Get our free mobile app

The offices and practice of Lloyd Sweeney, MD, founding director, served as the program’s initial base, with the first two residents graduating in 1975. CFM moved to its current location on the Avera campus in 2002.

Since 1973, over 400 doctors have graduated from the SFFMR program, many of which continue practice in South Dakota and the immediately adjacent states. Presently, 33 doctors are residents of the program, including 6 doctors at the Pierre Rural Family Medicine Residency in Pierre, South Dakota.

Here are 50 of your favorite retail chains that no longer exist.

More From Hot 104.7 - KKLS-FM