Attorney General Marty Jackley announced today (December 21) the winners of the first round of the statewide “No.Meth.Ever.” contest.

The contest was held among college and technical school students during the 2016 fall semester.

“The goal of the contest was to find a creative and fresh message to educate the public and our youth about the dangers of meth. We had excellent entries and a difficult task in choosing our regional winners.” 

The regional winners are:

Region 1- 1st Place – $2,100.00
Taylor Steiger, Joey Merz & KayCee Shepardson (South Dakota State University)

Region 1 – 2nd Place- $1,500.00
Dominic Heidt, Jayden Howie, Liza McCann (South Dakota State University)

Region 2- 1st Place- $2,100.00
Haley Danae Westphal (University of South Dakota)

Region 2- 2nd Place- $1,500.00
Chris Timmerman (University of South Dakota)

The winning entries in both regions are now eligible for the overall statewide winner to be announced in January. In addition, the second phase of the contest begins in January with the focus on a social media campaign.

Source: South Dakota Attorney General

See Also: