The Sioux Falls School Board has two openings and there will be an election to determine who will fill those spots. Election coordinator Bev Chase determined that four eligible candidates met the requirements of returning a petition with 20 registered voter signatures of residents within the Sioux Falls School District.

The deadline for filing the petitions was Friday April 12th. Despite school not being in session during the adverse weather conditions last week, the deadline was firm to keep the upcoming election on schedule. Candidates for the upcoming school board election are, Matt Leedom, Joshua Schorzmann, Carly Reiter and incumbent Kent Alberty whose term expires this year. Julie Westra’s term also expires this year, but she decided not to run for re-election.

The election will be held on Tuesday May 21 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Absentee ballots (for voters in both Lincoln and Minnehaha County) will be available at the County Auditor's Office, Minnehaha County Administration Building, 415 North Dakota Avenue beginning May 6, 2013 through May 21, 2013, from 8:00 until 5:00 p.m. daily. Absentee ballots are available on Election Day until 3:00 p.m.

Voter Registration Deadline for this Election is May 6, 2013. Voter Registration Forms must be turned in to the respective county auditor (either Lincoln County or Minnehaha County) no later than 5:00 p.m. on May 6, 2013. For a list of polling places in the upcoming election click here.